Is my Electric Yellow holding? (with pics)

blakemills

Have had this electric yellow for 6 months now. When sold to me, they told me the bigger ones in the tank were males, so I got the biggest one possible. They confirmed it as a male. However, after researching for the past few months (I'm new to cichlids), I guess I became curious to the actual sex of the yellow as it had no black under its body.

Now, I am assuming it is female, and I also think the she may be holding. I only have a single electric blue MALE in the tank with her... so I am a little worried.

She hasn't eaten for about 2 weeks, although seems to look healthy. She also hasn't really left her cave much. Lastly, she has developed a noticable lump under her mouth.

Picture several months ago:

IPB Image

And, now:

IPB Image

IPB Image

What do you think? Is the electric yellow a female? and is it holding? I have a few more pictures I could upload if these angles are not helping..

Thanks for your help

Any chance you just fed your yellow not long before taking the photo? And do you mean you only have an electric yellow and electric blue in the tank? Surely i wouldnt imagine those two xbreeding...

hey mate the fry wont last to long in the tank after she spits em out..

most fish like a chew on fry.

so ya wont have to worry IMO ...

unless you wanna breed yellows that is.

Any chance you just fed your yellow not long before taking the photo? And do you mean you only have an electric yellow and electric blue in the tank? Surely i wouldnt imagine those two xbreeding...

As I said, the electric yellow hasn't touched a bit of food for 2 weeks... isn't even interested when the electric blue is feeding.

And yes, only an electric yellow and an electric blue, as well as a peppermint bn fry since 2 days ago. I only upgraded my tank a month ago (from 30L to 250L), so have just been researching as what to get next.

its definately a girl... she looking very nice aswell.