What now?

juddo

As of last night my thank of Acei and EY were acting a little strange. This morning i have 1 Acei with a mouth full. I'm new to all of this so could i get some advice on what i should do with her now. Do i remove her to a holding tank? Do i strip her if so when and how?

Thanks Kaz.

First thing is to determine if the EY and Acei have cross bred. Then if so, do you really want to keep the hybrid fry??

When you say they were acting a little strangely do you mean with each other as a mixed species or as male and female of the same species??

In other words, is there a chance that two separate species have cross bred?

There is alot of Acei in the thank and EY pair. The EY male was not with the Acei at the time of spawning. He was trying to show to his girl. So i'm sure they have not cross bred. I had only put the flat rock in the tank 10 min and that got the action going. These fish have breed well of their last owner. I have only had them 2 weeks. They are the starting block of the 8' tank. The hubby is in QLD looking for more stock while he is up there. As i find them hard to find here. We have a few contacts up there.

Sounds like better news to me.

If they haven't cross bred then hopefully you're in for some Acei fry.

I think the best option is to separate the female in to her own tank so she can spit the fry when she's ready.

If this can't be done then wait two to three weeks and then strip the female and keep the fry in a safe frysaver or a separate growout tank.

Best of luck with the babies!!

hi juddo if you dont have a grow out tank you will need to find a fry saver with reeeeeeeally little slits, cause my acei fry can fit through the slits in the one i brought :(

just curious, I have my acei and E.yellows in together too is cross breeding really common :confused: