DIY tang tank

Tanganyika

I am on a mission to build a 5x 2 1/2 x2 tank, stand and hood and then go through the steps necessary to achieve the ulitmate tang community for a tank of this size. I have a preference for smaller more peaceful fish with as much colour as i can get but the fish can come much later. I have never built a tank before and dont really know the best place to go to get the glass, what thickness etc but i am hoping i will be able to get some advice from this board as well as glaziers. Not sure what filtration methods i will be using or lighting etc so I guess it is obvious that i will be asking a heap of questions hopefully making use of the vast amount of experience the members of this site have.

Sure i should probably start off with a two footer rather than jumping right in but i am quite happy to take my time and tackle something big (well for me anyway, some of the tanks i have seen on this site are huge).

So anyway I guess the first step is a decision on what i want the result to be. I know i want the width to be 5 ft and i was hoping i might get some input as to the pros and cons of the other dimensions. I will be taking pics and posting them as i SLOWLY progress and hopefully i wont come accross too many pitfalls and mistakes . I dont know how long this will take but i thought it might be useful for others who may take up the challenge of DIY. I will also keep a record of costs to see wheather it is worth the $$$ going DIY.

Thanks in advance

Damian

I can understand the feeling of satisfaction derived from DIY but in the case of a glass tank it is nearly impossible to buy the glass cut to size cheap enough. The tank manufacturers can buy it so much cheaper than you will be able to unless you know someone in the trade. DIY filters are another matter and you can make various types yourself - go for it. Datails can be found in the FAQ secton of the site.