Ps livingstonii

MikeWs Fish

I thought my female swallowed her mouthful and kept maybe one egg or sumthing. when i stripped her, i got 6 little wrigglers and 2 eggs with tiny heads. they're all gettting lots of oxygen etc.

I know i stripped har a bit early, but the 2 eggs with tiny heads should be right, yeah? do they need to be tumbled, coz i dont have a tumbler. Me thinks the best thing to do is just leave em and let them devellop.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I wouldnt think they'd still need tumbling at this stage however Im no breeding expert. For future reference though you should make your own tumbler. Theres DIY directions to make one floating around here somewhere but I cant find the link. I will post it when I can though blush.gif

clap.gif Excellent

Brett has some fry from his wildcaughts also thumb.gif

My females have all had plenty of practice mouthfuls now, and I have 3 holding, so I am going to start isolating them as previously I was just letting them practice in the main tank in the hope the live food would entice more spawnings in the tank. woot.gif

I cant in my mind understand why you'd strip a female early if you thought she'd lost her load though? Thats alot of stress to put a girl through in the hope of saving " maybe one egg or sumthing" blink.gif

ducky, i did it because i didnt want to hold 1 egg for 3 weeks (thats a lot more stress then stripping her IMO for 1 or 2.) anyways ive got al least 6 fry so far the other 2 need more developing before i can say that theyll be ok.

*edit*she looked very very interested in food and she didnt have the buldge that she did when she first had the mf. she must have swallowed half of it or sumthn.