DIY Side drop filter

Lion King

Tony,

I use side drop filters with a powerhead, (not an airpump) so all my side drop filters ARE wet/dry systems. I use a drip tray so there are no spray arms and it is extremely effective and quiet. Pipe the return back to other side of the tank if possible.

Here is a photo to give you an idea. Later this 12 foot tank was heavily stocked and I removed the canister filter shown.

IPB Image

I am overseas for the next 6 months so no photos unfortunately but I drew up a rough sketch of the filter. Im not very good at the drawing program either so apologies. Photos would be so much easier.

Essentially the filter is made from 2 pieces of glass. One first piece is the same internal width as your tank and as high as you want your water level to be. Glue this about 15 cm from the end where you want your filter to be. It should be watertight so I used the same thickness glass as the tank walls.

The other piece is much smaller, 15cm wide and the same height as the first piece. It is installed as shown in diagram to create a small powerhead chamber (approx 15cm x 15cm) and a larger biomedia chamber. Glue this second piece about 10mm off the bottom so it will stand 10mm higher than the first piece. On the biomedia chamber side I also glued 2 glass rails near the top so I could lay some egg crate/undergravel plate and a sponge prefilter (could use dacron sheet). This helps spread the water as a drip plate. Fill the biomedia chamber with biocubes or whatever media you want. I usually use nylon prawn trawler netting rejects on my trickles since its easy to pull out and its free :)