Getting my tank up and running again

Liberty

Hi all, long time no see.

I have recently bought a new place in the Sutherland Shire and wanted to get my tank up and running again (you can see my tank by clicking here). I have an Aqua One 620 90L aquarium that I'll be moving from my parent's place over to my new unit and wanted to get prepared for some new fish.

In a nutshell, these are my plans;

• My cabinet has some minor water damage but I'm a perfectionist and want to chase a new one - do I buy it direct from Aqua One or do you know a cheaper supplier? I prefer genuine.
  • Have live aquarium plants - chasing very low maintenance yet good-looking plants.
  • Looking at getting a small school of neon tetras/Praecox rainbows (I love colour), however I have no experience with them; are they easy to maintain, require a lot of attention, require any specific out of the ordinary tank hardware, any specific food, anything else I should know about them?
  • What other cichlids would be suitable and peaceful alongside tetras?
  • It will be a feature in my living room so I do want it pleasing to the eyes without looking out of place.
  • It will be located next to two floor to ceiling sliding doors that go onto a balcony - I believe I will have an issue with overgrowth of algae as I get direct sunlight in the afternoons? How can I tackle this? Common Pleco? Snails? Bear in mind that I do have separate sunblock and blockout screens that I can drop before heading out for work each day to keep the fish from overheating.

I have basically got the whole set up ready to go despite missing a few pieces from my tank's box when I first received it as a gift from my girlfriend all those years ago. I'll have to get the tank before I know exactly what's missing.

Any and all support would be awesome guys. I'll definitely take pics of progress and the finished product in a separate topic.

Edited by Liberty