Hi Guys,

Just picked my tank up.

The tank is a Aquatek supplied by Seaview Aquariums.

The cabinet was supplied by H2O Aquariums.

The 1 x 6FT Double T5 4 X 39w lights where brought from Guppy’s online store.

I am looking forward to my 1st build. I will try & keep you guys up to date on any progress that I make. I will be keeping Lake Malawi Cichlids. No specific variety as I am still learning about these fish. Most likely keep a maximum of 40 fish in hear. Or would 40 fish be too many for this size tank.

Any advice & I dears that you may have please speak up....

I also live in Adelaide. So if any one is from around hear & would like to shear any of there knowledge over a few beers that would be awesome. I will need all the help I can get.

I will make a decision on the sump set up & design some time next week. Is there any particular rule I should follow when selecting the media to use for the sump? e.g. should I use sponge into noodles into bio balls?? Or what? I don't really know as every one has a different I dear. I want the best possible filtration I can get in this tank & I would love to get it right from the start. Is there any particular system I should use that will really polish the water??? I will be looking a turn over rate of 3500Lt to 4000Lt a hour.

So hear are a few shots I got of the tank tonight. My apologies on the quality as I ran out of light & had to use the tank lights.

6880276027_d81b248ed7_b.jpg

6880275481_ff19ba5c32_b.jpg

6880273817_36f666dedc_b.jpg

6880273221_8c0a936e5e_b.jpg

6880274411_25025daf8d_b.jpg

6880276585_3bda10853a_b.jpg

6880274965_af7be44c0d_b.jpg

6880272681_a3b593b5fd_b.jpg

is that the 6x2x2 from seaview?? loooks like it.. absolutely mint tank if it is!

in short, 40 fish will be fine in that setup considering you'll be running a sump...

do lots of research on species you like before you stock it to make sure they're compatible etc..