Low PH

E4G13M4N

<H1>Classic low pH behaviour?</H1><DIV id=Qtextbox><P><STRONG>Author: kevy73</STRONG><BR><BR>I have written another posting here after some answers to why my fish might be dying and what I can do to stop it.... I have another question..... I have been trying to research as much info as I can off the net (just hope the boss doesn't see me whilst at work, do you think he would understand that fish are just more important???)

<br>

<br>

I am trying to find out if my fish swimming madly ( and I truly mean madly) about upside down, or flat on their side is a symptom of pH shock or could I possibly have more problems I don't know about yet?

<br>

<br>

Water was tested on Monday 19th May, and ammonia and nitrites were ok.... pH was just VERY low..... 6.2....

<br>

<br>

I can't find any info on this anywhere, and I know I am only a newbie here, but I would really appreciate some help.....

<br>

<br>

Thanks,

<br>

<br>

Kevin

</P></DIV><H2>Replies »</H2><DIV id=Atextbox><P><STRONG>Author: saudukar</STRONG><BR><BR>umm that sounds really bad.

<br>

<br>

Cichlids so sometimes scratch themselves agianst the bottom in a controlled and ordered manner. Males display in front of females and opponents by shaking themselves slightly in front of them.

<br>

<br>

What you describe sounds like somehow either thier nervous system has been effected or the swim bladder had sustained damage.

<br>

<br>

Swim bladder damage: the fish will look like he is unable to sustain a level horizontal state with swimming. Is required that physical damage is inflicted and/or tumour/body structure forces pressure on the bladder distorting the shape of the bladder and makes the fish appear to be on its side.

<br>

<br>

Central Nervous system: Will appear to swim correctly for awhile then career wildly around. Most commonly this is due to physical damage but can also be due to reactions with certain chemicals.

<br>