Breeding N. Tretocephalus, Experiences?

cooder

Hi all,

I have been keeping Tangs for about 3 years now, and recently developed a heavy interest in Apistogramma spp.

Anyway, i was wondering about breeding Trets, as they seem to be uncommon and looked down upon for their conspecific aggression. ( if you can breed big CAs then why not Trets?) In a while, i want to give these beauties a try at breeding. I am still practicing breeding and raising Cyps and Calvus, and am hoping that i will get spawns from my A. cf. agassizii (Netz/Net) Alenquer. So im no where near really experienced, but i have good water quality and conditions, and general knowledge, so would like to give them a go. They are my favourite looking Neolamp,

After a quick search online, i cant find an abundance of info, but i will keep looking....

As with obtaining most breeding pairs, it would be best to get 6 or more juveniles at im thinking 3 - 5 cm and grow them up. What size are they sexually mature and can expect some pairing behaviour? Is it even likely that a pair would form, or would they just kill each other before they got to size, so in other words is their any tolerance at all for conspecifics in "smaller" tanks? As expected i wouldnt have any other bottom dweller in the tank, but would a colony of cyprichromis fair alright?

Also im expecting the tank will be a 200 liter 4 ft and just one pair, as i need any other bigger tanks obtained for future troph, front and sandsifter colonies!! :happy: I have kept a single Tret, he was gorgeous and not aggressive to other fish, other than the usual gill flaring and displays, but i want to observe the way pairs / groups interact.