Products

Bradc

Hi guys and gals just wondering where you buy all your filter media products like purigen and chemipure blue. As the LFS wants $54 for 11oz of it and ive looked on ebay etc and can get the same for about $21 but is there any wholesalers or ozzie companies that do it cheap and post? Thanks guys

I ran purigen/macropore for a while but my water parameters showed no improvements so I gave up on it, I tried it in bags and tumbling, others may show different results but my tanks are just as clear without it.  Macropore is the cheaper of the two.

I have had similar experiences to Sam. When Purigen first hit the market many years ago I was a young student working in a fish store. It was the latest and greatest product so naturally I had to give it a crack as we stocked it and I liked to use products that we sold to give people real first hand experience. Always putting a lot of effort into my filtration and water quality my water has always been 'on the clear side'. Subsequently I noticed no real difference in my water quality or clarity and stopped using it after about 6 months of use. I am not saying it is a bad product, or that it shouldn't be used but I don't see the point if your filtration is on point.

I only see these products as something for balancing back out tanks and result in the water quality levels that a very experienced fish keeper can achieve.

If a perfectly balanced tank, water changes, water chemistry, all maintenance, temps in relation to feeding amount, stocking and the list goes on, is maintained as it should combined with knowledge, purigen just isn't needed,,,,,,, but in saying that it can be viewed as a tool,,,, the activated media is a excellent polisher, so in situations of creating acid waters for gear like discus and so on, then some tannins occur in the course of chemistry adjustment,,, purigen would strip it straight out.