Filtration, Lighting and any other advice for a new 6 x 2 x 2 cichlid tank

SophSixx

Hi guys, just wanted some feedback or advice on a new 6 foot tank. I've gone through some of the faq on this forum but can't quite seem to find a newer thread on filtration. I'm a newbie to the fish keeping world and have had a blue planet 50gal running for approx 7 weeks. Well, after doing a lot more research these last few weeks I decided to go for a second tank, 6x2x2. I am very new to this and although the LFS seem to be extremely nice and helpful I don't want to fall victim to a sales pitch either. They are offering me a Fluval FX6 which seems like a great filter by the reviews on line but am wondering if anyone here has had any experience with it? Do I run the cannister with the included media or should I replace some with something else? I also have an unboxed Fluval G3, ( was origianlly going to put it onto the smaller tank ) can I also use this as extra filtration or will do nothing pairing it up with the FX6?

Also, what is a good lighting system? Looking at a mixed african cichlid tank so something that will bring out the colors of the fish. I also want something reliable. The LFS also were saying some people also use LED's although they also said that I probably wouldn't need them for this type of tank.

Do I need anything else for the tank? I have had a look through some pictures and videos and there are quite a few that have no bubbles in the tank. Is this not a requirement on a larger tank? or does it only depend on how many fish you put into the tank?

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

• Replies 170
  • Created
  • Last Reply