davidf

Recently I've been talking with some acrylic manufacturers and the idea of egg tumblers came up.

Instead of importing Jehmco and other tumblers from overseas at full retail prices, I'm thinking of designing and manufacturing my own. I've been breeding mbuna for about 3 years, so I have some knowledge, but nothing compared to what is on here. What I am after is input and feedback from people as to what features they'd like to see in a tumbler, whether it be for mbuna, haps, fronts etc. These may include shape, material, sizing, air lift system and anything else you may think of.

So key features that are already on the table include (I'll be updating this post and list as suggestions come in) ;

- Acrylic

- Laser Drilled 1mm Holes in screens

- Dual screen 'airlock' in the bottom to prevent fry/eggs being poached by tankmates

- Removable bottom screen for cleaning/access to airlock

- Removable lift tube for cleaning and adjusting

- Wide base (40mm - 35mm interior - at this stage) diameter ( may be available in several sizes)

- Threaded lid for easy access while keeping fry secure

- Height of tumblers in numerous sizes

- Inclusion of quality air tubing, valves etc

Any ideas are welcomed, along with feedback on other tumbler features which worked/didn't work.

At the moment with the basic design, these tumblers are looking to be very competitively priced, with discounts offered for members.

My 2c

Ensure you can access/open the second screen on the bottom otherwise if an egg or very small fry drops between the screens and grows a bit before you notice you can remove it without getting brutal.

I prefer Not to depend on suction caps to keep it upright as they have limited longevity (and if it's just suspended by airline ensure it never opens unexpectedly )

The screens in the jehmco ones are too small in diameter for most of my purposes.

Thanks for the feedback Laurie.