Anyone used MH lighting

Davo

Has anyone used/anyone using MH lighting on their tanks? I am setting up a 6x2x2.5 tank for geos and discus and was wondering if it would be overkill. I have been looking at a 2nd hand Aquaone MG 1500 (5ft long) which consists of 3 x 150MH bulbs, 4 x 24w & 2 x 18w compact fluoros. Obviously you don't have to run all the lights at once.

The light can be suspended above the tank or it can sit on the tank on adjustable legs. I would not suspend the light as I do not want to drill holes into the ceiling. I have seen MH setups on marine and freshwater tanks and the shimmering effect of the water is fantastic.

I was wondring will the heat be too much and is there a way to calculate the power consumption of the light? Any other advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Dave.

howz it goin mate

I have some experience with MH lighting they look great but its a good idea not to have the lights too close to the water surface because they get bloody hot.

The best way is to suspend them above the tank.

and as for power consumption a 150w lamp will draw something like 160w due to the losses of the ballasts so overall the whole fitting will consume about 600 watts. thats if the cfl's use electronis ballast if not might be more.

Cheers Jayb

Thanks Jayb,

what would be the minimal height you would place the light above the water surface?

Dave

the suggested distance above the tank is 25mm [read in us marine books] any closer you may need a small fan to force the heat out quicker. be sure to use the uv cover, if it comes with one.

but don't you think this light setup is really overkill? geo's don't really appreciate overly bright lighting. mine realy show better under subdued lighting.